keeping my magazine loaded?

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by boomer92266, Mar 7, 2008.

1. boomer92266

boomer92266 Member

i am new to hi point, and need to know if it weakins the mag springs if you keep it loaded all the time. i have a c9 and love it,it shoots great i'm on a fixed income so i could'nt afford a higher priced gun. after i got my hp i found i didn't need a higher priced gun, the high point shoots great even hollow points right off i love it. i use remington 115 grain hollow points in the green box from wal-mart $23.96 +tax for 100 rounds, this will be my home defense gun so i needed to know if i can keep it loaded in the mag so it will be ready if i need it.

2. unclerob

unclerob Member

3. Grassafrass

Grassafrass Guest

Keep it Loaded

I keep mine (mags) loaded at all times, and it seems to cause no harm to the spring.
    When you first get new mags, I've read it's actually good to keep them loaded... breaks in the springs apparently.

I say keep it loaded!
    If it does (eventually over a long, long time) ruin the spring, Hi-Point will replace the magazine... but how are you gonna defend yourself with an automatic handgun, and empty magazines?

4. boomer92266

boomer92266 Member

hey guys thanks for the quick response, i am glad to hear that it won't hurt my mags cause i need it loaded for self defense at home. i used to be a revolver fan but after shooting the hi point c9 i am now a auto fan as well,by the way i'm thinking of a bigger gun and can only afford one now which one to get the 40hp or 45.

5. Ari

Ari Guest

This is the question that has been asked more then a few times here.. The people that make springs wolff springs have something to say on the topic. Tale a look what they say

"5. Should I unload my magazines, rotate magazines, load with fewer than the maximum rounds? How often should I change magazine springs?