Lee Auto Disk

Discussion in 'Reloading Room' started by GoesBang, Nov 16, 2015.

1. GoesBang

GoesBang Supporting Member

I've been using the Auto Disk on my Lee dies for a couple of months now. I had never used the disks, only the micro charge bar. Success was varied and consistency was questionable. Always within a 1/10 of a grain however.

I got a second Auto Disk and decided to try using a disk. I had also decided to try a different powder.

The Lee VMD chart showed the .40 sized orifice for my measurement. It weighed 3/10 light. I stepped up to the .43 orifice and was dead on.

I periodically checked the charge weight and was never more than .05 gr off.

Amazing difference.

I am building a third Auto Disk now and will either use it on a third powder or a dedicated charge.

I think the powder might have had a little bit of a difference too.

Charge bar - TiteGroup

Disk - Bullseye

2. noylj

noylj Member

The VMD depends on the bulk density of the powder, and that varies from lot-to-lot and from how you filled the measure and how much vibrations settled the powder.
    I never got the ACB to work at any setting except almost fully open.
    I find the disks to be spaced well enough for any normal shooting needs. Most accuracy loads are accurate over several tenths of a grain and one cavity or the other will cover this range.

3. FlashBang

FlashBang I Stand With Talon Lifetime Supporter

The charge bar works best with ball powders, the disks work good with stick and flake.

4. Rachgier

Rachgier Administrator Staff Member

I actually have 2 auto-disks myself thanks to Bull's generosity a while back. I concur with Flash's statement about how the powder's shape can interfere with consistency. I think Branth (maybe) solved his problem of inconsistent metering by adding a vibrator to his hopper.