Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
cocked,locked,readytoroc
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello to all!
Im new to the world of hi-point firearms. i just picked up a HP jcp 40 s&w, at the gun show this past weekend. i was looking for a low buget pistol and came across this guy, im pleased with the gun, but didnt reliesed untill i brought it home how big and heavy it realy was.:rolleyes: im vary happy with the gun dont get me wrong. the next day i went back to the gun show to pick up some rounds. i bought IMI (israel military industries) 105gr.lead free frangibles and then went to Blue Ridge Arsinale, and do to work and time crunch, i shot 74 rounds out of my jcp and got 2 jams, and every so often, when i reloaded a fresh mag and cock it. the mag would pop out about a 1/4''.
and it still does it from time to time.
If anyone can help me out it would be vary apperisated.

Thanks

·
Premium Member
637 Posts
I haven't had that problem with my HP 40, None at all actually! But I did with my C-9. I called mom at Hi-point and explained what was happening and they sent me a whole new release mechanism! As for the jams that could have been just you, I wouldn't be too concerned yet, finish putting a couple hundred rounds down wind and it will probable smooth out! Have fun , I'm sure you will love it!

·
Premium Member
1,175 Posts
Hello and welcome! This is one bugaboo of the HP pistols, dropping magazines. For a mag catch spring they use a piece of bent wire about an inch or so long with a small L shape leg on one end instead of a coil spring like on the carbines. I , like Mags50 above had a C9 that did it. HP will get a new catch and spring out to ya pronto and free for the asking. Should get you fixed up and it's an easy install.

·
cocked,locked,readytoroc
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·