Magnaflux machines rule!

Discussion in 'Gunsmith shop' started by downrangedan, Sep 12, 2015.

1. downrangedan

downrangedan Guest

The machine shop I work in pulled out there Magnaflux machine to check some metal parts we make for cracks. After learning how Magnaflux works I was amazed! Just by using certain chemicals, electricity and magnets you can see very fine cracks under a high powered black light. If any cracks are present they look like neon green/yellow marks. I'll get to the point now, one of the CNC operators bought a used gun and when fired the gun did not seem to have the power that a .38 special should have. As a quality control tech I got the idea to take down the revolver as much as possible and use the Magnaflux to check for cracks. To my surprise the gun was loaded with super fine cracks that you could not see with the naked eye. The cylinder on the barrel side was where more cracks could be found. Maybe not safe to fire this gun anymore, its a shame cause its was a cool looking .38 with a blued barrel. If anybody has the idea that there gun might have any cracking going on you should call around to local machine shops to see if they have a Magnaflux machine on sight and how much they would charge to check for cracks. Catching cracks before the become a problem is an important thing when your shooting guns. This is just something new I learned and wanted to share with everyone so we all can continue to be safe shooters.

2. Dane

Dane Supporting Member

Florida
    I don't see how that can affect the power of a 38??

3. downrangedan

downrangedan Guest

stress cracks and fatigue on any metal will make it weak and any tight tolerances needed to keep a gun in proper working order will go right out the window.

4. Dane

Dane Supporting Member

Florida
    But it is a revolver! Not the same as a closed breech.

5. SWAGA

SWAGA No longer broke... Lifetime Supporter

I'd be looking at the ammo first.

6. FlashBang