Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
17,917 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was a Volunteer Range Safety Officer today at the NRA sponsored "Women on Target" even at our local shooting range, and man was I wiped the hell out!

If you guys haven't heard of "Women on Target", you should check it out either for your wives, girlfriends or family members. It's a great way for women to become familiar with firearms and handguns in particular.

http://www.nrahq.org/women/wot.asp

My wife was the youngest person in attendance and took the class, but the oldest lady there was well into her 70's. That ole gal could shoot! They started off with .22LRs and moved up to higher caliber firearms after we had lunch. As a pistol instructor, it was an awesome experience for me as I had about 15 students and they were a great learning tool for me, as well as them. Captive audience so to speak. If I can get pictures up in the next few days I'll do it. It was a lot of fun.

·
Premium Member
10,385 Posts
Seems as though your wife had an unfair advantage.
I don't know how I'd feel being around that many people who I'm assuming have never shot a gun. I bet you drill gun safety to those women all day dont ya.
Sounds pretty fun though.

·
Registered
17,917 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
One of the ladies I was working with had never held a firearm in her entire life, and she was almost 50 years old. As I was instructing her, her groups went from 6 inches to about 3 inches and her point of aim/point of impact really improved. I think she was still shooting a couple of inches low and right, but it was all on paper at that point and that's what matters. I think range was somewhere between 5 and 7 yards.

·
Banned
5,315 Posts
they were a great learning tool for me,
Ha.. you called those women tools.... sorry.. couldn't resist. My wife is taking the CCW class with me.. and she has never fired a gun.. it will be interesting.

·
Registered
17,917 Posts