Mausers on the shelf?

Discussion in 'Curio & Relic Zone' started by Dane, Apr 30, 2018.

1. Dane

Dane Supporting Member

Florida
    Recent pawn shop visit I noticed two rifles in the case labeled as Mauser.

Maybe?? I am no expert. Says they are model 1895. That the year of manufacture?? See picture.

Last edited: Apr 30, 2018
  2. Dane

Dane Supporting Member

Florida
    0B77486A-3E15-4806-946E-0EDEC3272DAA.jpeg

Last edited: Apr 30, 2018

3. OldOutlaw

OldOutlaw Supporting Member

I do see 2 of them.

Merle likes this.
  4. Dagwood

Dagwood Supporting Member

There was a model 1893, and 1895. That does not necessarily mean they were mfg that year. The next model I believe was the 1897. The model 1898 is considered by many to be the quintessential Mauser. Many high end bolt action hunting rifles are still built off of the 98 action to this day. I am by no means an expert, but I did stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night...

Greg B. and Merle like this.
  5. Dane

Dane Supporting Member

Florida
    I have heard of the 98 action! Had no idea what that meant.

6. ajole

ajole Supporting Member

NE Utah
    Mausers went through some design changes, the 1889 in 7.65X53 was sold to Turkey as the 1890, the same thing known as the 1891 was sold to Belgium and Argentina,, then an 8X57 was sold to Turkey. I have an Argentine that was rebarreled to 7.62X39.

The 1893 was sold to Spain, it was cock on closing, 7X57, and made in Germany at first. I have one.

The 1895 has a slightly modified round bolt face and mag follower that allows you to close the bolt with no bullets in the mag, and was sold to Chile, and to the Transvaal Orange Free State, those are often called the Boer rifles. Also 7X57. I have a Chilean.