Maximum service life of a 9mm Luger

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by khatores, Dec 21, 2007.

1. khatores

khatores Guest

I've been reading the round count thread here and am curious...what is the maximum number of rounds that a 9mm HP pistol could fire? I see numbers between 1000 - 4000...but as long as the firing pin is replaced every 1000-1500 rounds or so, and it's regularly taken apart and cleaned/lubricated, how many rounds could one of these ultimately go through? 5000? 10,000? 1 million? What sets the limit, and what major parts may break or wear out to the point that they really have to be replaced?

2. I'm no gun expert, and you'll get a lot of responses.... but here's my quick input:

DON'T take it apart - it'll last longer and function better. No need to replace anything till there's a need to replace something. Clean regularly without taking it apart. If/when you have issues about failures, clean it first, ask questions here second (lots of help), and send it in for repairs as last resort.

I think general input is clean it, minor adjust it, send it in, in that order. And it should last the millions of rounds you talk about! Some here are real gun masters and take things apart all the time - I'm not. The beauty of the HP is you don't have to.

3. elguapo

elguapo Guest

There are a few people here who have had several thousands of rounds through thier weapons, who will chime in on this one.

4. I have put alot of rounds through all of mine. I have only had a few miss feeds. I would have to agree with the cleaning. gerneral cleaning and care will keep thses things going and going.

5. khatores

khatores Guest

By "take apart", I mean take the slide off for cleaning and lubrication, remove and inspect the pin and springs, etc. I don't mean complete disassembly, which I'm probably unqualified to do.

6. Silicon Wolverine

Silicon Wolverine Well-Known Member