Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I used to own several military surplus bolt action rifles until I got the ham radio bug and sold them to pay for my radio gear.

I'm still a ham radio operator, but am thinking about buying at least one or two rifles again. My local gun shop has MN's, Indian enfields, and some KAR98's.

I hear a lot of pros/cons on these forums about different rifles. I guess I would like to stay with mausers or enfields, because the MN's worry me a bit. The lack of a gas port while firing surplus ammo could get a little exciting.

·
Banned
2,485 Posts
i'm just the opposite of SW, i have a couple of mausers, like them, fun to shoot and rock solid but i'm truly smitten with the Mosin's and basically anything russian. i've got 31 mosin's and a couple of nagant revolvers and am having no trouble with finding ammo plus i love seeing the expressions on my friends faces when they hear the short barreled mosin's fire. but in all honesty, my collecting attention has now turned almost strictly towards more mausers, there's alot more that i want to know and experience about those rifles. you really can't go wrong with any of the old classics, the enfields, mosins, mausers, garands and the swiss rifles are all great examples of history and well worth the prices.

·
Registered
905 Posts
You will find more parts for mausers and the ammo is at Wal*Mart if that helps.
Second in avialability is Lee Enfield, they have .303 at wallyworld but parts are harder to find.
third, the mosin. It's a bastard step child, If it werent for mail order ammo, your screwed. There are replacement stocks and triggers and scope mounts though.
I have all three and love the Mauser most.
I have been thinkiing of a more modern stock for the mosin and mauser like this one here: