Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey folks, I thoroughly enjoy guns (my own and others'), but admit I am a novice, so forgive the lack of terminology to come. I'm looking for some more informed, experienced eyes and fingers to help me out.
A few days ago, I received a ATI Monte Carlo stock for my Mosin, to replace the old ratty wooden one. To my knowledge the gun had never been cleaned properly (I haven't had it all that long and previously lacked motivation), and figured it was time. YouTubed many 'how-to' videos on the mechanics of the gun, then removed, disassembled, thoroughly cleaned, oiled, and reassembled the bolt, and cleaned the rest of the gun, then sanded the Monte Carlo stock to fit, and sealed the deal. Took it out to a friend's "range" yesterday to test-fire and as Murphy's law would have it, there was a problem :D
Every time it's discharged, the gun seems to 'un-cock' itself. After firing once, the bolt doesn't want to open. You must grab hold of the knob-like piece at the rear of the bolt (that you use to turn the safety) and pull it back and adjust (turn...re-position??) it slightly before you can easily pull back the bolt and chamber another round. Happens every time you fire it, though I only put maybe 10 rounds through it. Maybe I'm silly, but I feel like I shouldn't have to force it open, as it wasn't hard to open on the original stock, so I feel like my fear of using a lot of force to pull it back isn't the issue here. Don't know whether I need to re-do the bolt and "fajangle" (as a YouTuber called it) it back together a different way, change the firing pin 'position' (I don't have a tool, I only went by the notch at the rear of the bolt), sand a different piece on the stock (maybe something's rubbing the wrong way up under there?) or be a sissy and buy a new effin' bolt.
Any and all help will be much appreciated!!

·
Premium Member
35,671 Posts
We are going to need some pics.