Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Wasn't sure of the correct board. Please move if needed, thanks.

The quick... In Michigan I was sold a shotgun under 30 inches as a standard long gun, NOT as a pistol which I have come to believe it is classified.

The story... I am a michigan resident, no ccw. I was at a gun show in Michigan and saw a used shotgun, the mossberg 500. I didn't know much about shotguns but it looked nice and I wanted it. It has a pistol grip, 18 1/2 barrel, and is about 28 or 28 3/4 inches long (need to find my tape measure). It was sold from an actual gun dealer with a shop in Michigan who was part of the gun show, not just some guy with a table or walking around. I asked some questions, he gave me a price, we filled out the basic purchase form, he made the phone call, I paid, we were done. Standard long gun purchase, no talk of a pistol purchase permit or ccw or anything of that nature. I went to a range today and the guy went nuts about me not having the shotgun registered as a handgun and it being illegal and such. I've looked up the law and it seems to say.. **the barrel must be 18 inches (mine is 18 1/2) and also the gun must be at least 30 inches total (mine falls just short). As long as the barrel length is ok, a gun at least 26 inches (mine is longer) can be sold as a handgun.**

So my problem seems to be I have bought a "pistol" without a pistol permit or ccw, and the sellers sold the item as a "long gun" even though it is required to be sold as a pistol. I'm afraid if I simply try to register it at the cop shop it will be taken away with possible fines/charges. What do I do?