My First Experience with a Hi-Point C9

Discussion in 'Hi-Point Reviews & Range Reports' started by dtg2calvin, Jan 27, 2016.

1. Let me begin by saying I am an avid outdoorsman, well-versed in long guns for hunting and target shooting. I am also an engineer that enjoys taking things apart and performing my own maintenance. I have owned a Sig Sauer P250C in .40S&W for several years, but rarely take it out to shoot because of ammo prices. I wanted to add to my gun collection a more economical pistol to shoot so I began looking for a 9mm. Of course, when you search handguns online by price Lo to High the first guns that start popping up are Hi-Points. This is where the story really begins....

The Hi-Point brand caught my eye for several reasons: American engineered and manufactured, lifetime warranty, simple operation, and less than $200 retail. Reviews online were either guys saying how much they loved theirs or guys dunking throw-away guns in muddy water and throwing them at the targets after emptying the mags (entertaining, nonetheless!).

After hours of internet research, I went to my local big box store (lets call it "Male Duck Large Hill") to finally hold a Hi-Point in my hands. The guy behind the gun counter was less than impressed when I asked to see the C9. As I worked the gun and looked it over he was quite vocal in how "cheap" Hi-Points were and you get what you pay for. Long of the short, I thought, 'for the price, what the heck, why not'. So, I purchased the gun, an extra Pro Mag magazine and 2 boxes of WWB in 115gr FMJ.