Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My letter to Springfield Armory about the Springfield Hellion Bullpup.
"Dear Jared Eaton or Production team member,

My name is FXXX GXXXXX.
I am an expert in firearms of all types and own many.
I very recently bought a Hellion and love it! Can't wait to get a .300BO version someday.
I Threw on a 1-4x24 Vortex Ranger from my collection of optics. Wish I had a Nightforce. I will someday.

I went to the Range and ran zeros out to 300 yds.
No sweat for the optic.
Then I started over to zero the irons.

On page 40 "last paragraph" of the Hellion operation and safety manual it states
"The front sight is adjusted by turning the sight knob. Clockwise rotation raises the bullet
impact and counter rotation lowers the impact (Figure 40-3). Each 1/4 turn of the sight
post moves the bullet impact 2” at 100 yards."
On the front sight it says "UP" and there is an arrow directing a clockwise rotation.
I read the manual and it says
"Clockwise rotation raises the bullet
impact and counter rotation lowers the impact"
I followed these directions to raise the impact and my sub MOA groups started getting lower until they dropped below the target.

So, I went the other way. I went counterclockwise and brought my groups up and into the bullseye.

The up rotation "arrow" clockwise raises the front sight post up, not the impact.
It lowers the impact.

Semper Fi!
Very Respectfully,
FXXX GXXXXX Gunnery Sergeant USMC
Number, Address
Gilbert AZ 85296
Ph:XXX-XXX-XXXX"

Thoughts?

·
Resident PITA
16,234 Posts

·
Super Moderator
26,140 Posts
So I shouldn't have said that?
Didn't mean to toot my own horn