Need AK advise.....

Discussion in 'General Firearms Discussion' started by SWAGA, Apr 15, 2015.

1. SWAGA

SWAGA No longer broke... Lifetime Supporter

I'm pretty sure my next buy will be an AK.
    Problem is I only know the basics.
    I could go YouTube but I'd figure I get better advise here.
    I handled a M70 under folder yesterday at the pawnshop.
    It's stickered at $649 which is way high.
    What are the better variants out there considering I don't want anything Chinese.
    I'd rather buy local but I wouldn't ignore a good online deal.
    I've never been fond of those itty bitty children's stocks they have on them but I've always liked the folders except the side folder with the wire stock.
    There a couple of gun stores locally that sell beaucoup of them, just don't want to look like a complete noob next time.
    Are there any with thicker gauge receivers?
    Does it even matter?

2. Think1st

Think1st Supporting Member

Florida
    Look at the ones from IO Inc. Classic Firearms usually has them in stock. They are American-made and based on the Polish AKM blueprints and cost between $485 and $600, depending on the model and time of the year when you go to their site. Many of them have nitride coated barrels, too.

As far as receiver thickness goes, some of the Bulgarian models have slightly thicker receivers. Unless you go with a milled receiver, the difference won't be that much. The thicker receiver makes the whole package more rigid and accurate if that is of great concern.

The Yugo models look nice, too, but go with Classic's NPAP 2 if you can get it.

I would also recommend Saiga or Be or if you can find one without getting ripped off. I have two Saigas, and I really like the fine fitment.

3. what_now

what_now Member

The best variant is the one that fits you :).