Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner

What should I do?

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
You know who I am
9,304 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright...I'm trying to decide what I want to do here. I've been holding off on getting the new slide for my 1911 with the adjustable sights and whatnot because I have some other parts I need to get for some of my other weapons first. Now I'm starting to wonder if I should sell the 1911 off and get a Glock .45 or something instead. I already have a lot of money in the gun, and with the new slide that'll add another $300 or so to that count. Right now the 1911 is basically useless because the sights are so off.

Opinions? Should I sell off the 1911 and snag another .45 or upgrade the slide to get the adjustable sights?

·
Registered
17,846 Posts
Just get a new slide man, it's less money and you well be able to get your money out of your investment.

·
You know who I am
9,304 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
That's what I'm leaning towards...but it's a rough decision. I already have 8 or so mags for the 1911, and I just really like the platform but I wanted to see what everybody else thought first.

·
Premium Member
1,145 Posts
I don't see how the sights can be that far off on a 1911 the only adjustment is windage and the rear sight is dovetailed in so you just drift it whichever direction it needs to go. Hell it's a 1911 it was never designed to be a precision instrument just kill charging Moros hopped up on opium and Germans at close range. I recommend you get it in to be looked at by a reputable gunsmith and find out whats going on internally. Have you looked at the barrel link pins? If they're sloppy and the gun locks up loose it won't shoot consistently, same same for the barrel bushing. I've ovned a couple and always been happy with them, a half a million dead japs can't be wrong!

·
You know who I am
9,304 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·