New C9, range report. . .

Discussion in 'Hi-Point Pistols' started by rowemesp, Jun 29, 2015.

1. New C9, observations. . .

I'm new to Hi Points and the C9. . .I took my NEW C9 to the range yesterday after disassembling and cleaning / lubing it. I didn't make any mods to the feed ramp or mag lips--it is bone stock. Here are some observations:

--I shot a total of 200 rounds.
    --This is a soft shooting 9mm.
    --I used Aquila and Herters 115 gn. FMJ ammo (i.e. cheap). The Herters seemed to run better.
    --The trigger (as expected) was quite heavy, and seemed inconsistent in it's pull after the gun got dirty.
    --It is VERY accurate; I was shooting at 10 yards and I was easily keeping them in a fist-sized group. The sights were spot-on out of the box.
    --Initially, the gun seemed to run reliably. As it got dirty (after about 50 rounds), reliability decreased and I got intermittent failures to feed. I also got several slide lock-backs with rounds still in the mag--slingshotting the slide got it back into action.
    --The blowback operation seems to get dirty quicker than locking-block mechanisms.
    --After the range session, I disassembled the gun again and observed some new wear points, which I lubed after cleaning everything. This gun is very easy to clean.
    --I noticed that now (after running 200 rounds through it, cleaning and lubing) that the slide moves noticeably smoother than it did prior to shooting it. The gun seemed to break in fairly quickly in terms of smoothing out.
    --I took the right grip off and lubed the point between the trigger connector and the sear connector, which resulted in MUCH smoother trigger operation.
    --I also lubed the SAFETY lever cam (where it pivots), which resulted in MUCH smoother operation.