Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
313 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So after reading this post below about weights and balance ..I tended to agree
http://www.hipointfirearmsforums.com/Forum/index.php/topic,15580.0.html

Well, by trade I am a mason, in school I majored in art for 4 yeas blah blah ect ect..and have been know to be Macgyvers odd cousin and for about two years ran my own custom carbon fiber parts biz...so I got to thinking..wood is being perfected by members already so what about some nice carbon fiber grips :p But decided naww not right now...though...I always loved pearl handled grips so I got to thinking what would give me a similar result and give me something not too hard to do :)...

So I settled on soapstone grips :p I grabbed a rather large piece below and started ..then stopped lol...I though the piece was not the grade I was looking for....so I went and got some better grade that was more for sculpting :)

I accessed the grips detail needed both inside and out and it is very feasible for me to do with some of the experience i have and all by hand tooling, no dremels . I do understand the impacts and pressures they may see and have thought ahead about that also and have a solution to remedy it ;) ...so wish me luck on my poor mans jade colored polished grips :) I am starting tonight and should have them done by Monday'ish :p

I wish I could take better pics to really show the awesome color these have in person but they will gleam when I am finished :)

]

this one below is the block I scrapped..just was not a decent grade to work with

·
Registered
586 Posts
yeah! I'd love to see those when they're done.

·
Banned
1,412 Posts
:brow: :brow: :brow:
Now we can actually tell everyone that Hi-Point has STONES!!! :D :D :D

·
Premium Member
380 Posts
Won't those be incredibly heavy? My experience with solid surface materials has always been that they are extremely heavy.

·
Premium Member
146 Posts