New from SC

Discussion in 'Welcome Aboard' started by J2H, Oct 29, 2014.

1. J2H

J2H Security Officer Member

Hey all,
    I am new to the boards, and to Hi-Points. I am a Security Officer in Lexington that needs a duty weapon for work, and I keep coming across Hi-Points, but I am seeing LOTS of mixed reviews. I am trying to gain some meaningful insight as to whether or not a Hi-Point is worth the money.

2. planosteve

planosteve Lifetime Supporter

First let me welcome you to the asylum, I mean forum. Second the HP pistols are a very good bang for your buck, pun intended. If you are on a limited budget they will be fine after you get a few hundred rounds through them. They are also a very good club.

3. cicpup

cicpup Resident PITA Supporting Member

Vermont
    Guessing you'll be OCing it? Think about the JCP/JHP. Tend to run smoother out of the box than the C-9/380. And more intimidating. Plus an accurate 40/45 for under $200 is a good buy any day.

4. J2H

J2H Security Officer Member

Yes Open Carry, at first, then eventually I will get my Concealed Security Permit

5. Last edited: Oct 29, 2014
  6. ajole

ajole Supporting Member

NE Utah
    What cicpup said. I'd go .40, one extra bullet and generally better ballistics than the .45.

I am an HP fan, not a fanboi, so while the JCP is a decent OC gun, I'd suggest as you move toward concealed, you start saving up for a "better" higher capacity gun than the C9 or CF380.

7. Hipointer

Hipointer Member

True here. My JHP is one of the best shooting handguns I have ever shot. She's ah "big-un", but it is sooooooooo easy to shoot well. ;)

8. SWAGA

SWAGA No longer broke... Lifetime Supporter

I bought my JHP at a pawnshop for $100
    Couple of days ago bought a flush fitting 7 round mag on eBay so it wouldn't look like I'm carrying spare batteries at the range.
    Follow up mags will be the 9 rounders.
    Since they're equal size I prefer the .45 but that's because I'm a .45 fanboi