New Member Questions About Bulged Ammo

Discussion in 'Hi-Point Carbines' started by ElSulorac, Nov 22, 2014.

1. ElSulorac

ElSulorac Member

Hello All,

I am new to high point carbines (But not to firearms) and bought one a few weeks ago. I purchased a Kel-Tec PMR-30 at the same time and it has monopolized my range time.

At any rate I reload in .40 S+W and thought getting the carbine would be a logical choice since I have several other pistols in it (including a High Point in .40). Once I picked up my once fired brass from the first couple magazines through my new 4095 carbine I noticed that the brass is bulged ALOT. None of my other pistols do this to this extent and I am a bit worried about sizing and reloading them.

Also I noticed some "blowback" of debris into my face on more then a few shots....So....How normal is bulging from NEW factory Winchester white box? And is some debris (powder?/metal?/Packing Grease?) normal on your cheek while firing this weapon?

2. boicecf

boicecf Member

What you describe is not normal and I would contact the Tech Dept at Hi Point ASAP!! You may have to send it in for warranty work!! I would not shoot your 4095 until this issue is resolved!!

3. ElSulorac

ElSulorac Member

I got a chance to detail clean it tonight and compare it to a few other guns (SIG P229/High Point .40 S&W handgun). This new carbine does have the most (ahem) "tolerance" in the chamber. Everything inside the firearm looked ok except the fact that a factory Winchester cartridge has some side to side +/or up and down movement in the chamber. In simple terms it was able to be rocked around in the bore with (and I am Guessing here) close to .010" with the tip of my finger.