New S&W SD.40VE

Discussion in 'General Hi-Point Discussion' started by x3benny, Aug 24, 2014.

1. x3benny

x3benny Benny Member

Im new to gun owning and iv got a hi-point 9mm and just got a S&W SD.40VE and there no safety on it whys that? could someone explain it.

2. BFH

BFH Member

Typically handguns without a safety rely on a stiff and/or long trigger pull to prevent a accidental discharge.

With a defense pistol the simpler and quicker it is to use, is better. Forgetting to switch off the safety in a defensive situation could be the difference in life or death.

3. greg_r

greg_r Lifetime Supporter

My brother has the SD40VE. It is serving him well. The safety is in the trigger. It has a hinged trigger, the bottom part has to be pulled fully rearward to fire. If memory serves it does not have a magazine safety so you can see what I'm talking about by taking an EMPTY gun sans the magazine and pulling the trigger without engaging the bottom part of the trigger. It will not pull. It also has a fairly stiff "self defense" trigger. Regardless, it will not fire unless the trigger is pulled fully to the rear

4. jim417

jim417 Member

The SD stands for self defense. In theory you do not want to have to mess with disengaging the safety in a self defense situation. The trigger pull is a little over 8 lbs, but still isn't that bad IMO. I have the SD9VE and it shoots great, just have to be conscientious of there being no safety.

5. GKC

GKC Lifetime Supporter

I have a SD9VE, which is designed similar to a Glock, both of which have no external safety. As has been mentioned, the trigger pull is heavier on the SDVE series pistols than on many other polymer guns, specifically to help prevent a negligent discharge.