Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
134 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this handgun thing and i am kinda curious what i should go with. could i have some help on choosing what would be right size pistol for me?

·
Premium Member
134 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I was considering the hi point .45 acp but was wondering if the .40 was a better choice...i just want it for a home protection gun and one i can shoot at the range.

·
Registered
35 Posts
get the .40 then. i had a .40 and have a .45, they felt almost identical in size and weight but the .40 ammo is a little cheaper. dont ask me why i sold the .40 and not the .45, i dont think clearly at times lol

·
Premium Member
134 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I know how it goes to not think clearly sometimes...Thanks for the recommendation to the .40.

·
Registered
85 Posts
I am also a newbee and I went with 9mm 'cause i wanted a pistol and a long arm. I also wanted an inexpensive ammo to develop shooting skills at the range. The 9mm HP carbine 995TS is a pleasure to shoot and looks feirce. I ended up with a 9mm Ruger P95 and a HP C9 Comp pistols.

Then my father-in-law gave me a 1914 Mauser .32 ACP pistol. He took it off a German officer in 1945. The officer was pissed off because after Dad took it off his night stand, he was then woke up and marched downstairs without his pants! lol! A gunsmith stripped, lubed, reassembled and test fired the Mauser pistol. Well worth $50.

I now have pistol riches!

·
Premium Member
491 Posts
best thing to do is goto a range that rents pistols and try out several. some will fit better than others, some will shoot better for you than others.

·
Premium Member
10,385 Posts