Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I’m new to firearms. I own a Ruger SR9C as well as a Hi-Point JCP.40

I got the Hi-Point mainly based on a great price, and intend on using it for home defense. I bought some .40 snap caps on Amazon to get a feel for safely loading and unloading the pistol before taking it to the range. Everything went good for two loads. The third time a cap became jammed in the gun. The pistol is jammed to where the slide won’t pull back to dispense the cap. How can I take the gun apart without pulling the slide? Or do I have to send the gun back to have it fixed? Thanks for any advice for a guy that knows very little at this point.

·
Premium Member
Everything
2,990 Posts
Won't pull back at all? Or can you pull it back and see the cap in there at all?

This just happened to my husband the other night- was letting him dry fire my c9 for the first time and he thought he had jammed it- he just wasn't pulling the slide all the way back with enough force.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Won't pull back at all? Or can you pull it back and see the cap in there at all?

This just happened to my husband the other night- was letting him dry fire my c9 for the first time and he thought he had jammed it- he just wasn't pulling the slide all the way back with enough force.
Won't pull back at all. I'll try to get some video of it maybe but I'll need an extra pair of hands

·
Resident PITA
15,961 Posts
Drop the mag first. Look up in there and see where the round is catching. Use a screwdriver or whatever to un-catch it. (edit: see next post)

Hi-Points don't like dry firing. You can't rack it with the force it needs to cycle properly.

Reactions: Roastbeats

·
Resident PITA
15,961 Posts
you can see (kind of) the brass from the cap in this picture. The slide has about 1mm of give but is basically locked in place