Now THIS i have abit of problem with

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by tallbump, Aug 20, 2014.

1. tallbump

tallbump Supporting Member

I am sure many of you have heard about this my now

I’m a cop. If you don’t want to get hurt, don’t challenge me.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/posteverything/wp/2014/08/19/im-a-cop-if-you-dont-want-to-get-hurt-dont-challenge-me/

It's an editorial by

He said a lot of good stuff, and I agree with almost everything he says.

Things like

But he's catching a lot of flack right now, and I agree. Here's the part that I have a problem with.

Uhm, excuse me? Let me paste that again. The part I don't agree with.

Uhm...to taht, I give Mr. Dutta a big SCREW YOU.

MAYBE, maybe, the way he wrote this isn't what he really meant. But he wrote it.

He seems to be implying that it is ok for a police officer to use violence because someone argues or got belligerent with them. That's complete BS and cannot be condoned. This police officer mentality of do what I tell you to do or else stuff has got to stop.

NOW, if there is an actual threat, like, say getting punched in the face ot the point that your frigging occipital lobe is fractured, by all means, fire away. I am 100% ok with defense.

But to say a baton strike, paperer spray, tazer and ESPECIALLY a gun shot is ok becuase the suspect told the officer he was going to report him. Yeah, I have a problem with that.

THIS is what should be happening....as he said in his article

2. lklawson

lklawson Staff Member

Sounds more like he expects the suspect to escalate once they being being uncooperative and belligerent.

Psychologically speaking, he's not wrong. Once your brain gets into an oppositional mode it ramps into anger and thense to physicality very quickly. That's just how we work. But, if the suspect (we) can control our 100% natural impulse to opposition, we stand a much greater chance of interrupting the psychological cycle that leads to physicality.

Peace favor your sword,
    Kirk