Ordered new Lee progressive with 9mm setup, what else might i need.

Discussion in 'Reloading Room' started by rippinryno, Jun 17, 2015.

1. rippinryno

rippinryno Well-Known Member

Well, I got tired of looking at the 2 5 gallon buckets full of 9 and 40 casings. I decided it was time to try to do something with the old brass.

I have zero experience reloading, but wanted to just make the jump so i ordered the press and that pretty much forces me to put it to use.

Having no experience at all, what else do i need to purchase? De primers and what not?

I can do a DIY tumble since i'm not going to be doing huge amounts i'll just use the washing machine or something of the like to get me started.

I also plan to make an order for lead and primers today so that I have those supplies. I have some guidelines for powder loads that i've found on some of the reload forums around the interwebz.

Just wonder if there's anything that I don't have that will be needed to successfully reload. I am not sure if this press have a deprimer.

thanks.

2. planosteve

planosteve Lifetime Supporter

Only thing I see missing is a 45. You need a powder scale, dies, shell holder. Dial calipers. Give us a breakdown of what you have and have ordered and we can help.

3. rippinryno

4. planosteve

Still need a scale to set your powder drop from the measure. So I would say a scale and dial calipers are all you need to start.

5. rippinryno

ok, don't need a de primer or anything? i wasn't sure how you go about doing that.

6. planosteve

The sizing die has a deprimer pin. It punches out the old primer during the sizing operation.

7. rippinryno

awesome, i'm assuming this kit comes with the sizing die as part of the "3 die set" that is labeled.

8. ajole

ajole Supporting Member

NE Utah
  9. rippinryno

Ok, i'll look into that. So the scale is basically just to check the pre measured amount to make sure it's good?

10. ajole

ajole Supporting Member

NE Utah