Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a novice when it comes to handguns. I do own a 1911, and I do love it. This weekend, I got to hold a Hi-point handgun for the first time. Maybe it is just me, but it feels like all of the weight of this gun (9mm) is along the slide. I also checked on a Taurus 9mm, and in contrast, the weight felt like it was along the grip, settling it right into my hand.
Beyond comfort, can anyone give me pros/cons to the feel of each? I would think that horizontal weight would make it harder to keep on target. Then again, I could see how enough of it could help balance to gun.

·
Registered
114 Posts
Hi Point's blow-back design makes their pistols heavier overall than others of the equivalent caliber, and since this extra weight is in the slide, they do tend to be top-heavy. However, this extra weight makes them more stable for some people, and quicker to re-acquire the target due to less movement after the shot.

·
Premium Member
144 Posts
I think the weight helps when shooting my JHP 45. Keeps the recoil down to a good gentle kick.

·
Premium Member
876 Posts
The less complex blow-back design compared to the 1911 requires the side to be heavy in order for the pistol to function. However, since the barrel is fixed to the frame (quite unlike the 1911), it is inherently more accurate. This is not to say that the C9 is more accurate than all 1911's, just that the design, itself, has a greater potential for accuracy since the barrel is fixed in position and only the slide moves.

·
Banned
9,261 Posts