Please don't kill me..

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by Dr. Fresh, Mar 19, 2008.

1. Dr. Fresh

Dr. Fresh Guest

I searched around here, and I couldn't find it, so I'll go ahead and ask. I just got a 995, and it's got some issues. I haven't fired it, and the pawn shop said it was "broken." Since it's all beat up anyway, I wanted to send it to HP to have it fixed.

I noticed the mailing info thread, but what I need to know is how exactly do I do this? I've never shipped a firearm before and I don't know the procedure. Should I use UPS? USPS? Do I put it in a cardboard box and leave a little note in there telling them what the problem is?

This is a noob question, but I'm a noob, so here goes, haha...

Also, neat forum... I think I might spend some time here.

2. Give them a call - they will tell you what and how to do it- you can get their number from www.hi-pointfirearms.com.

3. Silicon Wolverine

Silicon Wolverine Well-Known Member

box it up, take it to a ups shipping point and tell them its "machined parts". Pay. Done.

SW

4. ^ yup. just make sure your box(if its the original) does not say anything about "hipoint firearms" or anything like that. Many places don't deal with guns and gun parts just for liability reasons. So yeah, its just machined parts.

5. UPS specifically says "No Firearms." I had to ship mine back in pieces anyway, so I felt a little better about lying about it.

6. z71silverado98

z71silverado98 Member

it's not exactly lying as a firearm is in-fact a machine that just happens to run on bullets.

As added precautions go ahead and install the trigger lock if yours came w/ one. I also like to seperate the slide/barrel & firing pin from most pistols i send back though thats a little more involved w/ the HP.

7. MalcolmStone

MalcolmStone Member

8. Dr. Fresh

Dr. Fresh Guest

According to that link, it's illegal for me to not tell them it's a firearm..