Polished my c9 feed ramps

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by hpman, Dec 6, 2007.

1. hpman

hpman Guest

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

It really wasn't as hard as I imagined. Me, my dremel, a good hour and a lot of qtips. Can't wait to get it to the range and see how it does.

Looking at the pictures now, I wonder if I should have polished more of the front edge? :?:

[​IMG]

2. It looks great to me, let us know how it works.

3. Looks like you did a very good job. Post a range report after your next shoot to let us know how it ran.

4. Actually, I didnt even use a dremmel on mine, just took a very fine grit sand paper, and used my finger and rubbed until I could see myself in the metal and called it good.

5. hpman

hpman Guest

I was worried about taking off metal since I've never done this before. I used my dremel with a buffing wheel and rubbing compound. Would've only taken 5 minutes if I used sandpaper. :)

I really like the way the metal shines up. Hard to resist polishing the barrel, slide and everything else metal. :D

6. You could shave in the mirror on that feed ramp!

7. Im lazy lol. The sandpaper I used was like 4000 grit. You could rub it on your skin and it would not hurt.

It took a little while, but I sat there and rubbed and watched tv :)

8. Looks smooth as a babies butt. As a bonus if you get lost in the woods you have a signal mirror.

9. septimius

septimius Guest

taken outta context.... couldnt resist

10. hpman

hpman Guest

Has anyone had a problem with rust? I coated it with a liberal application of gun oil but don't know what else to do.

11. Mine hasn't rusted yet!
    But then I live in CO where the humidity is rather low...keep it oiled and it should survive...besides. knocking off the rust with a couple hunnerd rounds usually does the trick!

12. I don't think that'll rust undeonditions, as long as you use a little light oil on it.