pro con for .40 or .45

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by rjmorel, May 18, 2008.

1. rjmorel

rjmorel Member

I recently sold my C9 to a friend that just had to have it. Now I'm looking at the larger .40 and .45 cal HP handguns. Which is better or are they about the same. Is one ammo more expensive then the other? Are they the same gun with only the barrel bore different? I'm a little runt and recoil comes into play. I just shot my .357 Taurus 605 with .38 specials and that's no problem. I put in .357 mags and felt like firecrackers in my hand. Not fun. OK , I'm a woos, I'll admit it. Does the .45 or .40 kick harder? I've only fired a Glock .45 once and it didn't seem to bad. Thanks, Rob

2. JasonJ

JasonJ Member

they are the same frame.. and im no expert but im pretty sure the 40cal has more felt recoil due to the high pressures that its loaded to.

the 45 is actually quite managable. I have the JHP45.. was my second gun, right after a 22lr buckmark.. talk about a size difference! lol.

i think the 45 will fit you better, same size as the 40, less expensive round to buy, and less felt recoil.

3. go with the .45...you won't regret it.

4. urotu

urotu Member

Same frame, different calibers...

My 13 YO son shoots my .45 like nothing, likes it better than my Cobra 380, less felt recoil.

My buddy has a Glock sub-comp in .40 and it has less felt recoild than my JHP .45, but not much.

I would prefer the .45, but that's just personal prefrence. Either is a fine caliber, the .45 is just that much bigger.

5. I have always found the .40S&W to have a snappy recoil feel that is more pronounced than the .45acp. Both have considerably more felt recoil and upward push than the 9mm though, so recoil recovery for fast follow up shots will be slower with the .40/.45 than with the 9mm.