Question about amount of rounds fired before first cleaning.

Discussion in 'Hi-Point Pistols' started by kevin6154, Apr 23, 2014.

1. kevin6154

kevin6154 Member

I'm no expert and I'm also not a newb when it comes to firearms. I've been shooting most all my life. It seems odd to me that the manual for my new jcp recommends only brushing the bore every 300/400rounds. I've only ever bought 3 new pistols. A Phoenix hp22, a cobra ca380, and my new hipoint. All other firearms I've owned were bought used. So is the 300/400 rounds for break in? It seems odd to me. As a youth my father and grandfather always said "never let the sun set on a dirty gun". It's hard for me to put it away without tearing it down for cleaning. Am I doing the right thing by following the recomendaions of the owners manual?

Sent from my iPhone using Hi-Point Forum

2. USMC_VET

USMC_VET Supporting Member

i'm a Military Vet and also trained as a small arms armorer while i was in and we cleaned our rifles 3x's or 3 consecutive days even if it only had 3 rds thru it . So with my 995TS yes it get's field stripped and a complete and thorough cleaning after ea range visit

3. talon

talon the banned wagon

Im the opposite end of the spectrum when it comes to my HP. Other guns, I clean everytime, but my HP gets a bore snake each trip only. Im over 4000 rounds, and it was stripped once, more for curiosity sake and to check the firing pin.

4. kevin6154

kevin6154 Member