Questions on Manufacturing Rules and Regulations

Discussion in 'Gunsmith shop' started by Zeus, Feb 29, 2016.

1. Hello all,

I make my living as a machinist. I mainly work with cnc, but we also have a bridgeport and tool room manual lathe I can operate as well. I also do a lot of long hand programming, CAD modeling, and some CAM work for the complex tool paths that do not make sense to be written out by hand. I am extremely fortunate to work for a small company that will not only allow me to use their tools, machines, software, etc but actually encourages it for practice and learning. I've made many parts for various things I need and was even able to make a lot of my Christmas presents the past couple years.

I was wondering if anyone knew what kind of licensing or fees would be needed in order to make some parts and accessories for firearms. Is a FFL or ITAR needed for accessories? Not a big production run of anything, but a few small runs for myself and maybe a few online. It's hard to find a straight answer from the searching I have done. Is this why joey sells his triggers as key chains? Is this why there aren't more aftermarket Hi Point manufacturers other than LongShot?

I would appreciate any light you guys could shed on this topic.

Thanks,
    Zak

2. OldOutlaw

OldOutlaw Supporting Member

Big time thing in any manufacturing company is Liability. You could expect any gun that had your part in it if some thing catastrophic happened with it to draw you into Court. The gun manufacturer would blame your part no doubt.
    Though not in anything gun related, I owned at one time a Distribution company
    selling Pipe, Valves, and Fittings to Contractors around the country. All made by
    National brands. Still, I had to have a multi-million dollar Liability Policy to cover myself even against a manufacturer that tried to shed their responsibility, And, they will try in most cases.