Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I know this a total noob question but I need some help. I cannot find an explanation on bullets, so to speak.
Here is what I am trying to find. I would like to know what grain bullets do what. Like the pros/cons of each. I am under the assumption that the heavier grain = more knockdown power.

Also, the ammo that I got for my C9 is the Blazer steel case. Are they okay for my HP9?

·
Registered
2,641 Posts
my 9 and 995 love blazer brass. they cant get enough of it lol. Hotter load more kick more power further distance more accuracy depending on your gun if it likes hot loads.

Thats all I know Im sure someone will fill us in with the rest..

·
Banned
19,442 Posts
bullet weight isnt the best indicator of "knock down" power. its more about speed when you are working with pistol rounds. a 115 gr bullet at 1200 FPS has more lb/ft of energy than a 147 gr at 900 FPS. also what you want to do with it is a consideation in bullet choice.

SW

·
You know who I am
9,304 Posts
Most people seem to say that the Blazer steel case works, but personally I wouldn't recommend shooting steel through the C9 because of the additional extractor wear. A few rounds here and there probably won't hurt, but I'd probably stick with brass personally. Others with personal experience may have differing opinions.

The grains of a bullet are how much it weighs. I generally get the highest grain and highest velocity ammo I can find for my Glock 17 and Ruger P345. I carry 147grn +P+ in the G17 and 230grn +P+ in the P345. The +P or +P+ rating denotes that the pressures for that ammo are higher (some guns are not rated for these, so be careful and read your manual!). IIRC, +P is a SAAMI rating but +P+ isn't rated by SAAMI so it may vary by manufacturer. The higher pressures will mean greater bullet velocity, which with pistols should generate more knockdown power.