Ramsey baby steps

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by SWAGA, Jun 30, 2020 at 6:10 PM.

1. SWAGA

SWAGA No longer broke... Lifetime Supporter

Didn’t want to dilute @greg_r
    thread but reached bit of a milestone myself today.
    Ramsey babystep 6!
    https://www.daveramsey.com/dave-ramsey-7-baby-steps
    We’re doing about 80% Ramsey as we call it and we did 3-4-6 kind of simultaneously.
    This morning we reached our goal of having an Emergency fund of 50% of our yearly income rather then 3-6 months of expenses only.
    If we both loose our jobs we can stretch it to 12 months and still keep the lights on.
    If nothing changes we’ll have the house paid off in 6 years and that is on top of all the savings for home improvement.
    :banana:

Last edited: Jun 30, 2020 at 6:16 PM
    Think1st, yworrydog, ajole and 6 others like this.
  2. TCB

TCB One french fry short of a Happy Meal. Member

Congratulations! My wife and I have been doing Ramsey for something like 15 years. We blew through baby step 7 about 10 years ago and haven’t looked back. I’m not saying this to brag, but I was on a millionaire theme hour several years ago (they asked me to come on the show when I emailed Dave thanking him for changing our lives). It works.

Rerun and SWAGA like this.

3. SWAGA

It’s not bragging lol.
    I feel like an apostle sometimes, asking random colleagues if they are familiar with Ramsey.
    That’s exactly how my wife got familiar with it. A colleague asked her and gave her a couple of his DVD’s.
    It took me 4-5 months to get on board about 3.5 years ago.
    I transferred the last this morning at 5am after I saw my paycheck made it through and after that just simply couldn’t sleep anymore.
    Probably woke my wife at 6:30 as in you need to see this.
    Made a coffee with whipped cream and we celebrated.

Rerun likes this.
  4. Dubar

Dubar Supporting Member