Range to sight in your pistol?

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by Steve M, Dec 24, 2007.

1. As you all know, I'm a newb. I want to know what range I should sight in my C9 for. I was thinking 30 feet, then I could see where the bullets go at shorter and longer ranges and use kentucky windage for those shots.

2. Steve if you bought the gun for home/self defense, sight it in for what you figure will be your most likely range that it would be used.

If you bought it to plink with, you already have it figured out

3. Agree - My carry guns / HD guns are sighted in for 25 ft - as that's the "longest" shot in my house and anything closer really doesn't need sighted in.

I fell into the "trap" of not understanding my objectives. I wanted to be able to hit 25 yds with my carry guns...... then thought, what the heck, if I've got 25 yards, I ought to be running or hiding. Folks here helped me to think about this and be more comfortable sighting in and practicing close up.

4. 1motion

1motion Guest

for me this all depends on your opinion of point shooting.... i have my .45 sighted in at 25 yards so i have the confindence to make longer shots where the sights will play a big roll in accuracy as compared to up close and personal work where point shooting will be a factor. and even when the sights are used at close range they are still close enough to score hits.

5. well Steve as someone who went to the range to site in my C9 I did it for 25ft at the advice of RO as that is the most likely distance you will have to engage someone at

6. I sight my self defense pistols in at 12 yards and do most all my shooting from 5 to 20 yards.

7. I sight all of my pistols in at 25 feet and practice with thm enought to be able to make the appropriate visual adjustment if it comes up.

8. Ari

Ari Guest