Range trip 1, with pics!

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by Steve M, Dec 18, 2007.

1. Okay, so I received my new c9 last night around 7 or 8, and promised that I would hit the range today to work her out. Here's the result. Keep in mind, I've been shooting for less than 3 months - about 10 trips to the range with various pistols.

Apologies in advance for all the pics...

The target afterwards

[​IMG]

40 rounds, 30', right hand one-handed (that hole outside the circle was from when I folded the target over later)

[​IMG]

40 rounds, 21' left hand one-handed

[​IMG]

21 rounds, 10', two-handed

[​IMG]

40 rounds, 30', two-handed
    [​IMG]

21 rounds, 30', two-handed

[​IMG]

40 rounds, 21', two-handed

[​IMG]

I shot 202 rounds of WWB from Wal-Mart over a period of about an hour. I shot sorta slowish with a traditional two handed grip, and did some one-handed shooting with both hands. My impressions are that the gun has recoil properties similar to a Glock 19, and better than the G26. Also, the sights, while needing a bit of tweaking, were pretty good right out of the box. I didn't do anything to the c9 before shooting other than removing the sticker on the grip. I noticed afterwards that the residue on my hands and the front of the gun were noticeably less than every other gun I've shot.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

So how did the gun perform, you ask? Well, there were 2 failures to feed (FTF? or is that failure to fire? I'm a newb!), one in the 4th magazine, the other in the 12th. I noticed on one the bullet was slightly nose down, while the other was slightly nose sideways. Slight pressure on the rear of the slide gave enough impetus to load the rounds, so no problem.