Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
17,917 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I just resized about 3,000 .45 ACP bullets last night, and there are some of the bullets that most of the lube grooves are gone. After I relube these bullets, are the ones with the lube grooves almost gone safe to shoot?

This is my first time resizing bullets, so I have no idea, and the instructions don't say anything about it.

Oh and talking about one monotonous job. I resized all of these bullets at one sitting. Wow, that was boring as hell to say the least.

·
Banned
1,738 Posts
hmm..what old are you using? and what lubing method? I use the lee oglive 1 and 2 round nose tumble lube bullets and have never taken hardly anything off of em when resizing with the lee kits......interesting question to say the least....wish i could help ya more.

·
Premium Member
152 Posts
I have the Lee mold and it drops my bullets out at 0.357 to 0.359, After I re size em, they come out at 0.356.

·
Registered
4,517 Posts
I use the Lee molds for my 45acp and 9mm and have never had to resize any so I can't help with an answer, just butt in is about all I've done :-[

·
Registered
17,917 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I am resizing to .452, and I am using the Lee tumble lube .230 grain mold. I don't know why these particular bullets dropped so big, but they did. Like I said, most of the tumble lube grooves are gone on just a handful of these bullets. I can remelt them, but if they're safe to shoot I'd rather do that.

·
Banned
19,454 Posts
as long as they chamber, bang away. lead bullets will swage themselves to teh barrel, but it will lead heavier than luber bullets. i shot some 40s completely unlubed and they worked fine, but left alot in the rifling.

SW

·
Registered
17,917 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I am going to relube them for sure, I just wanted to know if there would be enough lube on the lead since the grooves are almost gone.

·
Premium Member
4,997 Posts