Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Premium Member
9,238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As many of you know, I am still relatively new to revolvers, but I've tried to make up for lost time with the Rugers I've bought over the last couple of years. I have 1373 rounds of various .357 Magnum rounds through my GP100 and 800 rounds of various .44 Magnum rounds through my Redhawk.

My questions have to do with both end shake, weapon behavior as it heats up, and copper shaving.

To start with, I don't typically purchase or run the non-magnum versions of these guns' primary chamberings because I am a firm believer in the idea that I should train with them using what I would use either for hunting or self defense, and I also get a LOT of pleasure from watching what they do to steel plates at 25 yards. With that in mind, I may be putting more wear on my revolvers than other users might.

I know that these revolvers, as Rugers, are more robust than the average revolver, but nothing is invulnerable to wear.

1. Regarding end shake, my GP100 has absolutely no movement from front to rear, while the Redhawk has a very slight amount of movement. I read some material about acceptable amounts of movement and how to use shims to fix it if it gets excessive.

a) Have any of you experienced end shake in your revolvers?
b) If so, after how many rounds did you observe it?

2. Have you experienced difficulty closing the cylinder or binding in double-action as your revolvers get too hot to touch?

3. a) Have you observed fine copper shavings accumulate on the table below your revolver as you shoot it?

b) If so, after how many rounds did it begin to occur?

·
Premium Member
Everything
2,990 Posts