Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
586 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A buddy of mine decided long ago that his first handgun needed to be a revolver. It should be relatively inexpensive (but not cheap) and have a good warranty, and be possible for CC, not be a .22 and be not the most expensive to shoot.

After some research I suggested a Tarus, but cant decided a good caliber (im torn between a .38 or a .357) I'm far from an expert, anyone enlighten me?

·
Registered
592 Posts
You can shoot .38 through a .357. So why even consider a gun that shoots .38 only? Also .357mag revolvers are generally better made in order to handle the more heavy duty magnum loads. When and if my wife ever lets me get a Ruger sp101 I’ll buy a .357 but it will get a diet of about 95% .38 just because of the price of ammo.

·
Registered
128 Posts
We have 3 Taurus revolvers, my two Gauchos in 45 LC for SASS shooting and my wife's 38 sp ultra lite for a carry piece. Since personal defense is not a long range situation, under 7 yards, the 38sp using JHP+P ammo will provide more than sufficient stopping powder without the additional "kick" of a 357. And, there are lots of inexpensive FMJ ammos for practice as well. Taurus is a great choice as they warranty their guns, not the buyer, forever. Their revolvers also have a Transfer Bar so you can carry a full cylinder.

The revolver has one big advantage over the Semi-Auto...it is always ready and you don't have to try to remember whether you chambered a round, have the safety on or both IF a dangerous situation suddenly pops up....just grab it and pull the trigger.

Hope this adds to your knowledge a bit.

·
Registered
235 Posts