Senior Eyes

Discussion in 'Hi-Point Pistols' started by hoodcanaldr, Dec 23, 2015.

1. hoodcanaldr

hoodcanaldr Member

I've searched "bifocals" and found the posts mostly concern 3point sights vs ghost rings. I'm looking for guidance from bifocal wearers concerning pistol shooting with 3point sights. I'm new to pistol shooting. I have a HP C9 and Taurus TCP. At 7 yds I can hit a 9" paper plate most of the time but by the time I get the sights and target sort of aligned the POA starts to wander and my group is the size of the plate.

So, is there a coping mechanism for sighting or should I just ignore the sights and learn to point and shoot? Any help would be much appreciated.

2. undeRGRound

undeRGRound ROLL wif Da MOLE! Supporting Member

INDY
    Whew, good Question, HoodedCanalDr...
    I have been blind in both eyes 3 times, and have
    ocular implanted lenses now. I have the oldest
    eyes on here, most likely. Cataracts, secondary
    cataracts, detached retina, everything but
    Macular Degeneration! :eek: But I do not have
    those problems, It's likely just a coping mechanism
    like you said. I know some use the aperture on the
    spectacles, said that is a great aid.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Link for the above... http://www.eabco.com/css_sts2.html

3. Pablo

Pablo Carbine Guy aka Zippy Member

My occupational progressives are great for work, reading, working on guns, but suck for 10-15 yard and beyond shooting. It took 3 attempts for perfection, so I'm not messing with that.

So, I went to my same local eye doc and had some pretty cool shooting glasses made. Cost me $250. I take super good care of them, and they are 4 years old. Not one scratch. I highly recommend this option. Mine have correction for my dominant eye, nothing on the upper for the recessive eye and magnifiers only at the very bottom for both.

This may help:

http://chrissajnog.com/vision-and-shooting-and-aging-part-1/

4. lklawson

lklawson Staff Member

Yup.