Shift or additional focus??

Discussion in 'Training' started by histed, Nov 16, 2015.

1. histed

histed Supporting Member

Like a lot of you, I carry anywhere its legal to do so. Also, like many here, I try to train for something I pray never happens. Most of that training concentrates on the "15 yards or less bad guy(s)" scenario - robbery, street punks and so on. However, in the wake of Paris and the seeming rise of suicide attacks, I started wondering if a shift in focus, or at least an additional focus, should be added. I know it simply isn't possible to anticipate every possible scenario that MIGHT happen, but are there things that could I could be doing more of? Longer range shooting, for example. This is, at this point, just a "thinking out loud" exercise. Unlike some of the most active members here, I have ZERO LEO or military experience. I've taken a couple of classes, shoot as often as possible, and try to stay alert when we're out. So....any suggestions?

2. Grant

Grant Member

I concentrate 15 yds and in, but will push the pistols out to 25 yds regularly, and shoot at 100 yds from time to time. Now I'm not expecting a 1 shot kill at that range, but being able to put down an effective base of fire to escape the opposite direction seems like an effective plan. Inside of 25 yds, I expect to hit my target, though I know in the face of emergency, misses are likely.

3. slade601

slade601 Member