So here's what I'm up to

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by tallbump, Aug 21, 2015.

1. tallbump

tallbump Supporting Member

PA annual vehicle inspection is up at the end of September. You basically can't have any rust. Surface is ok, but no holes.

I have an appointment for the inspection for next Saturday. So I started on the rust repair tonight. I have never done this before, but I have done my research.

First set of pics are how it was before I did anything to it

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

After some clean up, getting rid of as much of the bad stuff I could. Some steel wool, a wire brush and a wire wheel in my drill

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Put a little rust inhibitor on it

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I'm covering the holes with some heavy duty window screen I have. Here's the first one, with no sanding.

[​IMG]

Hope to finish the whole tomorrow, including sanding. Not sure if I'll get any priming and painting done.

So far it's only cost $24 including the sandpaper. Primer and paint should be less than $20 more

2. SWAGA

SWAGA No longer broke... Lifetime Supporter

Looks good.
    Could have used some of that expanding foam to fill the holes.
    Cut with a knife, sand and then window screen and some bondo.
    Another trick, cut soda cans to shape the fill the hole then bondo.
    What your fingers it's sharp.
    Used to have a buddy that did frame 'repairs' that way.

3. tallbump

tallbump Supporting Member

Thanks Swaga

Wish I would have thought about the soda can thing.....

I was wondering where I could get metal...

I did think about the expanding foam, but trying to save $. I have more time than money LOL

I did cut one finger already...have to keep an eye on it, don't think I'm up to date on my tetanus shot.