spouse against concealed carry?

Discussion in 'CCW & Open Carry' started by Littleguy1, Feb 12, 2018.

1. Littleguy1

Littleguy1 Member

PA
    I'm fairly new to concealed carry. About two years. When I first talked to my wife about it she was totally against it. Not that she was against guns but she didn't think I needed to carry a gun wherever we went.(she has only shot a 22 caliber one time) Not wanting to upset my wife I decided to wait to get my permit. As time went by she found one of her good friends husband carried and her friend was fine with it, actually liked the comfort of knowing he was carrying. Then my wife started hearing all these stories of people being attacked whether with a gun, knife, club or whatever. Even thinking about home invasions, she especially worried about this since we had a top ten county fugitive that lived right across the street from us. We started out buying a security system for our house, made her feel safer. Then finally after this she was ok with me getting my conceal carry permit. So I applied and got my PA permit. Started to carry some, but I lived real close to NY border so had to be careful. Then the NY county that bordered my PA county was accepting applications from PA residents. Even though money was tight at the time my wife agreed to me getting my NY permit. It cost me about $150. Now a lot of the time we leave the house together my wife will ask if I have my "weapon". I read post that you and your spouse are both "gun" people but do any of you have spouses or significant others that are against concealed carry or have waited for them to change their thoughts about it.

eldarbeast and lklawson like this.
  2. 3Js

3Js Henderson/Las Vegas NV Member

When I first met my wife she was against having guns in the house. She had a bad experience when she was younger and it affected her opinion of guns.