Study shows prisons hold more than just criminals.

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by ajole, Apr 14, 2014.

1. ajole

ajole Supporting Member

NE Utah
  2. j_inmon

j_inmon Member

3. ajole

ajole Supporting Member

NE Utah
    Typical media confusion...a paragraph later they say 30% are on some form of drug for mental issues.

4. tallbump

tallbump Supporting Member

Doesn't surprise me at all. In fact, I'd say more than 30% of my clients at work who have mental health issues also have a criminal record.

Most of the arrests occur when people are off their medications. Many are homeless or live independently, and have no structure in their lives. They wander the streets with no purpose (I don't mean purpose as humans, I mean they aren't out doing anything in particular) and it leads to getting into trouble

5. mawguy

mawguy Sheep Dog Member

First, a bit of disclosure. I have a brother who is schizophrenic, I have been a health care administrator for 40 years, and have a degree in psychology.

In the early 1990's the promoters of Mental Health Reform insisted on reducing the institutional population to as close to zero as possible. Their theory is that most of the mentally ill can live in the community with supervision.

This is wrong on two levels. First, there are some that are in and out of hospitals on short cycles and are a danger either to themselves or others. These are the people that comprise a large part of the homeless population and who get into trouble with the law.

The second issue is that in the community model, there are not near enough case managers to ever properly manage the lives of the mentally ill. Medication management requires daily observation and adjustment. By the time a person in the community needs a change in meds, they are already out of control.