Taurus PT 111 G2 vs 709 Slim

Discussion in 'General Firearms Discussion' started by tjulian, May 22, 2016.

1. tjulian

tjulian Member

I am looking at getting one of these two pistols, as they fall within my price range and feel good in my hand. I will be carrying the pistol.

So I was wondering if I could get some thoughts on a comparison of the two.

I know on paper the pt 111 is slightly larger and feels larger in my hand. But that may be because it is a double stack. I am concerned that the pt 111 just wont feel that much smaller than my C9 when I have carried it. I know it is lighter, but I'm more concerned about the feel (size). I have an alien gear 3.0 tuck holster.

I have read some discussion on other forums comparing the two and some people said that the 709 was not fun to shoot. But then general reviews say it is low recoiling. On the forums, they have also said that the trigger on the 709 is not as good, but I'm no expert on that.

A friend of mine likes the pt 111 over the 709. He has shot both, and said he shot better with the pt 111. But that he is also used to larger pistols and not a small one like the 709. He also said the magazine and slide felt looser on the gun he shot, but it could have just been that gun.

This will be a big $$$ purchase for me so making a decision is hard, since I have not shot either gun. I was hoping to go to a range that is an hour away and shoot the guns, but they don't have the 709 to rent.

So if anyone is familiar with both guns, can you please provide me with some advice? As always, any help will be appreciated.

2. FirearmFanatic

FirearmFanatic "The Enabler!"

Out of the two you mention, i would go with the 111. You might also want to check out the Sccy CPX1 or CPX2. I had the 111 but quicky sold it after I bought the SCCY CPX2. Much better for me. Plus, it is less expensive and has a lifetime warranty, no questions asked. YMMV.

3. Hipointer

Hipointer Member