The Master Mind of Mars

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by lklawson, Jul 7, 2015.

1. lklawson

lklawson Staff Member

I've been re-reading the Barsoom series by Edgar Rice Burroughs, as time permits. I read them many times in my youth and, frankly, they're not exactly high-intellectual fair. However, below the surface of Burroughs' formulaic but entertaining adventure, every once in a while, there appears to be a bit of social commentary which went unnoticed in my youth. The same is true for The Master Mind of Mars which I just finished re-reading last night.

The story was written in 1927 and follows the exploits of an Earthman, Ulysses Paxton, transplanted to Mars in the same way as the original hero, John Carter. Like Carter, Paxton is a warrior by trade; in this case a veteran (and victim) of WWI, in which he was "killed" before being transported to Mars (Barsoom).