Hi-Point Firearms Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,225 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My boots generally get the shit kicked out of them. They get covered in mortar and cement and block dust. Then get romped through the mud, and just generally abused. Every single year the leather cracks so bad that I can see my socks through them and keeping the wet out isn't even an option any more.

So I ordered next years boots, they are the same as always. Carolina's with the comfortable sole and all leather construction. But do you think if I treated them with motor oil or Vaseline or some type of petroleum they would hold up better? Usually I have enough time to spray them off after work, but I don't want to spend every night cleaning and polishing them, any one have some tricks for keep your boots soft and waterproof?

·
Registered
851 Posts
Ive been wearing Bates boots for the last 11 years, clean them and use Kiwi boot polish to keep them in good shape. Run it over them every few weeks and wipe off the excess. My soles wear our before the leather ever does. Oldest useable pair is about 6 years old. They are the last pair I had while in the service so I dont wear them an more but there in great shape. Kiwi is cheap and easy to use and most stuff wipes off if the boot is often wiped down with the Kiwi.

·
Premium Member
1,225 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
mink oil once a week does the trick for me. ten minutes and makes the boots last 2-3x as long.

SW
I've tried that stuff, it holds up for a few hours but by the end of the day you wouldn't even know it was there.

·
Registered
17,846 Posts
Sno-Seal for waterproofing, and it helps to keep the boots lasting longer.

·
Banned
19,446 Posts
mink oil once a week does the trick for me. ten minutes and makes the boots last 2-3x as long.

SW
I've tried that stuff, it holds up for a few hours but by the end of the day you wouldn't even know it was there.