'Vietnam era AK' this doesn't sound right

Discussion in 'General Firearms Discussion' started by SWAGA, Jul 22, 2014.

1. SWAGA

SWAGA No longer broke... Lifetime Supporter

http://www.armslist.com/posts/3296693/okaloosa-county-antiques-for-sale-trade--2200

[​IMG]

Doesn't sound right to me especially with that thumb hole stock.
    But I'm a complete AK noob....

2. Bull

Bull Just a Man Supporting Member

Is it me, or does the receiver look awfully new for a 40 year old gun...... Not the best pic, but the finish on it looks awfully dark and fresh.

3. RockCreek

RockCreek Member

MN
    It's a Chinese/Norinco MAK-90, built to get past the 1989 import ban of "non sporting rifles". Notice it is neutered with no bayonet lug, thumbhole stock, and no muzzle device (except the cheesy clamp-on one on the gun). Any AK encountered in Vietnam would have been full auto, and pretty tough to smuggle back to the states.

4. SWAGA

The seller may not know any better and may have bought it overpriced himself.
    Or he's a crook.......lol

5. SWO1

SWO1 Member

NO WAY....NO WAY

I picked up more than a few in Viet Nam. Even had one of my own I paid $50 for .....while in country ! Sold it for $50 when I left. You could get anything into country ...... but nothing out. REAL ones have a straight butt stock, pistol grip, cleaning rod under the barrel, and NO flash suppressor. And I NEVER saw one with a drum ...... :rolleyes:

Now I was in I-Corps up on the DMZ. Mostly Regular N. Viet army, some Chinese, and Russians. Maybe the Viet Cong had those in the south ???

If it was brought back from Viet Nam it was bought in a shop while he was visiting last 20 years or so.

6. I imagine the seller probably bought it from some lying S.O.B wearing a Vietnam Vet hat.
    clearly he dosent know what a Vietnam AK would be. so he wouldn't know if the guy lying to him.