Warranty statement that came with my 4095

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by ridgerunner, Feb 14, 2008.

1. ridgerunner

ridgerunner Guest

I have read all the glowing reports of Hi Points warranty, and I believe all I have read. Does not have to be original owner, etc.

Since I am new to Hi Point, just wondering about the Statement of Limited Warranty that came with my carbine.

"The Model 4095 Carbine is warranted to the ORIGINAL RETAIL CUSTOMER for life from date of original purchase ....."

"Any implied warranties, including the implied warranties of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose, are limited to the lifetime of the ORIGINAL RETAIL PURCHASER. ...."

(emphasis mine)

Has this always been the statement and Hi Point has just taken care of all their guns, regardless of original owner or second or third. Or is this a new policy?

By the way, I really like the 4095.

2. Honestly i'm not sure if that has been there or not. I would have to find my manual. However, you say you believe what has been said about their warranty, and my experiences support it.

3. How would they know if you the original owner? Unless the original owner sent in a registration form. Do manufacturers get a list from the gov with the names of people that bought their guns.... I dont think so.

Another good reason not to register your guns..... with anybody.

4. That's been there since forever, but it's not the policy they follow. Heck, they _encourage_ buyers of used HPs to send them in under warranty to verify that there's nothing dangerously wrong with them. I've done that twice, specifically telling them that I'm not the original buyer, but there's never been a charge.

5. The 995 manual is online:

http://www.hi-pointfirearms.com/manuals/carbine.pdf

I've transcribed the warranty from the PDF: