WD-40 Question

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Oct - 2009)' started by hobo, Jun 9, 2008.

1. hobo

hobo Guest

Okay maybe I'm getting old or maybe I'm just loosing it, but... During my CWP class today they briefly touched on handgun cleaning and maintenance. We were told that under no circumstances should WD-40 be used to clean or lubricate guns. Okie dokie.

As a lifelong automotive/aircraft mechanic I'm fully aware that WD-40 is not a good lubricant and assume it probably wouldn't be good for cleaning gun powder residue. I'm still with it.

But when the question was asked of the instructors (guess who asked) why not to use WD-40, the answer stunned me. According to them, WD-40 is absorbed by the metal parts of the gun (specifically the chamber/barrel) and will soften said metal causing the gun to KB.

WTF?

So, my question to the good members of this forum. Is this "information" correct and if you beleive it to be, can you post documentation stating such?

Thanks guys!

2. Intersting. Never heard that one. Can't say, but sounds like it might be BS.

3. condition1

condition1 Member

not so sure about the softening or KB factor, but WD does slowly soak into metal to varying degrees, depending on the metal. I've got no documentation but all the guys I know say to avoid using it on weapons. period.

4. When WD40 is said to soak in, doesn't that mean into rust and corosion, to loosen metal parts?

5. condition1

condition1 Member

its my understanding that it actually penetrates into metal, again no documentation, slowly, but it does. If you ever use it just make sure you get all the excess.

6. hobo

hobo Guest

As I implied in my first post, I'm familiar with WD-40, just not with WD-40 and guns.

Most everything I've found so far makes mention of excess WD-40 on your firearm can seep into the primer and kill your rounds. The second most common thing said about it is that after it eventually dries it leaves a residue that will block/restrict the barrel.