What do/did all of the current military/vets do while in?

Discussion in 'Vintage Topic Archive (Sept - 2009)' started by waltham41, Mar 16, 2008.

1. 95Ba9 Patrol Dog Handler (MP) 1976-1979 US Army. Wish I'd of stayed in.

Ft. Jackson
    Ft. McClellan
    Lackland AFB
    Taegu, Korea
    Ft. Belvoir

2. I was a Aircrew Egress Systems Technitian. (fancy words for "rocket chair repair") And an Instructor for same profession. Spent 6.5 years in the Air Force.

Yea, I know sounds like a exciting job, but it was actually quite boring. I always volenteered (not always smart in the military) for any extra training I could. I spent some real intresting times at a few Army and Marine installations because of it though. I did a few jaunts to the mid east and to central america.

I am glad I got out when I did, but if I had it to do over, I wouldn't change a thing(or at least not much).

3. i was in aircraft maintenance. fuel systems. in from 1985 to 1989. i now work as a contractor to the air force as an avionics system technician. i love working on military aircraft. i too wished i had stayed in. oh well. :wink:

4. Silicon Wolverine

Silicon Wolverine Well-Known Member

Light vehicle maitenance, and also did filler work on a bridge assy crew as needed.

SW

5. doktor

doktor Guest

Medic, Optician, AODAA (all other duties as assigned)

Doc

6. If I told you, I'd have to kill you. 8)

7. Oneofsix

Oneofsix Member

NC
    US Army 85-88, TAMMS/PLL back when they still called it that. Unit was GS/DS for the TOW and Dragon for the 3D ACR when they were still at Ft Bliss. Funny thing was the techs had to have a clearance to work on the systems, but not me, even though I ordered all their parts, looking at the same manuals they did.
    Never could figure out why some of the guys called us REMF's
    (j/k, I know :D )

8. ex3313

ex3313 Guest