Registered
366 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
my old lee pot works[free]
charley just gave me 10 lbs of wheel weights[free--only 4 zinc :D]
more wheel weights comeing whenever we need them[his work]
im gonna order a slug mold and a lee load-all
im getting excited
but i got a question---should i go with the 7/8 oz mold or the 1 oz?
any experience or ideas?
all will be considered and appreciated

·
Registered
4,513 Posts
Gidge,

I've got no experience with shotgun slugs. SiliconWolveren does and should be able to offer some good insight. Hope you plan on melting, fluxing, and cleaning the WW in another pot if your using a Lee bottom pour pot for casting? WW have alot of initial crap in them that will clog up a botton pour pot good and proper. Then it is a PITA to clean out.

·
Registered
5,757 Posts
To clean up your lead fact and quick make a home made blast furnace. I'll post a video next time i do this. Get a small cast iron skillet, 3 ft piece of copper tube, leaf blower, can be electric or gas, empty 1 gal steel paint can and charcoal.

make a hole in the side of the paint can and insert the pipe. Make holes all around the top lip. tape your pipe to end of the leaf blower. dump in charcoal. add lighter fluid and let burn for a minute, and then fire up the leaf blower. Put your skillet on top, and in five minutes it will melt down all of your lead. This method works great, and i reduced 50 lbs of wheel weights down to clean ingots in about 45 minuets.

·
Banned
19,442 Posts
go with the 1oz mold, its more vestaile load wise. you can also mill off the "ears" in teh mold to make a heavier slug if you so desire. the Lee molds dont last as long as an RCBS or lyman but the cost offsets it. Expect them to last around 2500 casts at best before they wear out. For the 25$ the mold costs you can buy several for teh 70-80$ a lyman or RCBS costs.